Pat Quinn, Governor

DNR Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 IDNR Home
 IDNR Home (new)
 Agency Offices
 Disabled Outdoors
 Freedom of Information Act
 Get Involved
 Grant Info
 Great Lakes Restoration
 License / Permit / Register
 Kids & Education
 Law Enforcement
 Mandatory Safety Programs
 Lodges / Leasing
 More Links
 Outdoor Recreation
 Parks & Recreation
 Press Releases
 State Museums
 World Shooting & Recreational Complex
 DNR A to Z


The Mine Safety and Training Division recognizes outstanding achievements within the various regulatory programs through the Land Reclamation, Blasting Excellence and Blasting Industry Leadership Award Programs.

The Land Reclamation Award Program, first issued in 1987, recognizes outstanding and exemplary achievements in non-coal (aggregate) mining reclamation and is intended to promote high quality reclamation. The program is designed to create an atmosphere which increases the exchange of information and technologies and to increase public awareness of achievements made by the aggregate mining industry. Illinois winners are also nominated for two national reclamation awards, the National Association of State Land Reclamationists Reclamation Award and the Interstate Mining Compact Commission's Kenes C. Bowling National Mine Reclamation Award.

    Land Reclamation Award Winners
  • 2003 - No Nominations Received
  • 2002 - No Nominations Received
  • 2001 - Vulcan Materials Company, Casey No. 305 Quarry - Clark County **
  • 2000 - Fox River Stone Company - Kane County
    ** Winner of the 2002 Interstate Mining Compact Commission (IMCC) Kenes C. Bowling National Mine Reclamation Award.
Please click for a complete list of the Land Reclamation Award Winners and photos of recent recipients.

The Blasting Excellence Award, started in 2002, is a recognition of individual(s) who have demonstrated excellence in their approach to blasting. These individuals must have risen above the everyday obstacles and continue to conduct themselves in the highest professional manner, while using the most appropriate blasting practices for the job at hand. This award is presented to individual(s) based upon the merits provided within the nomination and verified by the Department.

    Blasting Excellence Award Winners
  • 2004 - Andrew Lewis
  • 2003 - Lonnie Dunn
  • 2002 - Mark Withey

The Blasting Industry Leadership Award, also started in 2002, is a recognition of company(s) who have demonstrated leadership within the industry by consistently going above and beyond the fundamental regulatory requirements. These company(s) must have shown progressive attitudes by establishing and supporting policies which promote blasting programs that achieve quality blast design and safe blasting techniques with significant consideration to the surrounding communities.

    Blasting Industry Leadership Award Winners
  • 2004 - Vulcan Materials Company
  • 2003 - Columbia Quarry
  • 2002 - Elmhurst Chicago Stone

Office of Mines and Minerals Home

Mine Safety & Training

Analytical Laboratory
Emergency Response Capabilites
Mine Rescue
Photo Gallery
State Mining Board
Training & Certification

Mines and Minerals Publications
Educational Materials
ArcGIS Coal Mine Viewer
OMM Initiatives


Copyrightę 2014 Department of Natural Resources
Accessibility    Contact    FAQs    Podcasts    Privacy    Social Networking