are 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. NOTE: On Thanksgiving Day hunting hours
are 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
holders must check-in at the hunter check station on the following
areas at the listed times. Reserved permit holders that check-in after
the check-in time may not be allowed to hunt if the area's hunter
quota has been filled.
- Des Plaines, Eldon Hazlet, Iroquois County, Moraine View & Wayne
- Jim Edgar Panther Creek, Johnson Sauk Trail, Kankakee River, Green
River & Sand Ridge
holders are allowed to bring one to three hunting partners at all
Department operated areas. NOTE: Hunters must include the number
of partners desired when applying for reserved permits.
When daily hunter
quotas are not filled, standby permits will be issued by drawing held
at the conclusion of check-in time. If daily quotas remain unfilled
at the conclusion of the drawing, standby permits are issued on a
first-come first-served basis until 12:00 noon unless an earlier time
is posted at the area's hunter check station.
The permit holder
must be present to hunt for the partner(s) to hunt.
must obtain a Daily Usage Stamp from the Department prior to hunting.
The Daily Usage Stamp fee is paid at the area on the hunt date. On Nov. 27 and Dec. 31 where applicable, hunters under 18 are not required
to obtain a stamp. On Nov. 27 and Dec. 31 each hunter under 18 must be
accompanied by a paid adult hunter.
16 years of age must be accompanied by an adult hunter who is 18 years
of age or older.
Hunters must have
a valid Illinois Hunting or Sportsmen's License, unless exempt. Resident
hunters born on or after January 1, 1980 must have successfully
completed the Hunter Education Course provided by the Department of
Natural Resources to obtain their first Hunting or Sportsmen's License
or must have an Apprentice Hunting License. Hunters 16 years old or under who will be hunting under the direct supervision of a parent , grandparent or guardian who is 21 years old or older and who has a valid Hunting or Sportsmen's License may hunt with a Youth Hunting License. Hunters may be required
to deposit their hunting license at the check station while hunting.
Hunters exempt by law from having a hunting license may be required
to deposit their F.O.I.D. Card.
Stamps are not required to harvest pheasants on controlled pheasant
hunting areas. However, State Habitat Stamps are required when hunting
on controlled pheasant hunting areas that allow the harvest of quail,
woodcock, Hungarian partridge or rabbits if hunters intend to harvest
any of these species.
pheasant hunting areas non-hunters are not allowed afield during the
controlled pheasant hunting season. There is, however, an exception
to this regulation. During the IL Youth Pheasant Hunt, each young
hunter is required to be accompanied by a non-hunting supervising
adult when afield and may also be accompanied by a non-hunting dog
ID CARD (issued by Illinois State Police): Regardless of who owns the
gun, anyone who has a firearm or firearm ammunition in their possession
must have in their possession a valid (F.O.I.D.) Card unless (a) A
licensed nonresident hunting in Illinois, or (b) Under 21 and under
the immediate control of a parent, guardian, or responsible adult
who has in their possession a valid F.O.I.D. Card. Only one supervisory
adult is required to have a F.O.I.D. Card in their possession, if
all hunters under 21 in the party without a F.O.I.D. Card remain under
the direct supervision of the supervisory adult possessing the F.O.I.D.
- Daily Limit:
Des Plaines, Eldon Hazlet, Iroquois County, Moraine View & Wayne
Fitzgerrell - 2 pheasants either sex
Green River - 2 cock pheasants
Jim Edgar Panther Creek - 2 pheasants either sex and 4 rabbits all season
and 8 bobwhite quail - opening day through the Sunday following Thanksgiving
Johnson Sauk Trail - 2 pheasants either sex, 8 bobwhite quail, 2 Hungarian
partridge, 4 rabbits
Kankakee River & Sand Ridge - 2 pheasants either sex, 8 bobwhite
quail, 4 rabbits
- Hunters are required
to wear a solid blaze orange cap/hat and upper outer garment displaying
at least 400 square inches of solid blaze orange material while hunting.
Hunters must also wear a back patch issued by the check station.
- All hunting must
be done with shotguns or bow and arrow. Only shot shells with a shot
size of No. 5 lead or a nontoxic shot size ballistically equivalent
to No. 5 lead or smaller may be used. NOTE: At Chain O'Lakes
SP, Eldon Hazlet SP, Green River, Johnson Sauk Trail and Wayne Fitzgerrell
SP only nontoxic shot approved by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
may be possessed and only shot shells with a non-toxic shot size ballistically
equivalent to No. 5 lead or smaller may be used or in possession. Flu
flu arrows only may be used.
Nontoxic shot sizes ballistically equivalent to No. 5 lead include the
No. 3 steel or tin
No. 4 bismuth
No. 5 tungsten-iron,
No. 6 heavi-shot
- Hunters with previously
killed game in possession or in the vehicle must declare it with the
person in charge of the area when checking in. Game found in a hunter's
possession after the hunt starts will be considered illegally taken
if the hunter has not declared it prior to going afield.
- Hunters may not
leave the confines of any permit area and return to hunt on the permit
area during the same day.
- Hunters are required
to have their game birds checked, recorded and banded before leaving
- It is unlawful
for any person to possess any alcoholic beverage while in any hunting
area for the purpose of hunting.
- The Department
reserves the right to cancel a permit and deny any future privileges
on the area to anyone violating State or Federal Regulations or indulging
in unsportsmanlike activities.
DISABLED HUNTER REGULATIONS
hours are 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM.
permit holders must check-in at the area headquarters between 10:30
AM and 11:00 AM.
hunters must possess a valid Standing Vehicle Permit.
- Disabled hunters
are required to contact the site 2 days prior to the hunt to confirm
their attendance on the hunt date.
- Disabled permit
holders are allowed to bring one ambulatory hunting partner. NOTE:
When applying for reserved permits, hunters must indicate on the application
that a partner will be included on the hunt.
SPECIAL ILLINOIS YOUTH PHEASANT HUNT REGULATIONS
- Stand-by permits
will be issued by drawing held at the conclusion of check-in time when
daily quotas are not filled.
- NO FEE WILL BE
- Each permit holder
MUST be accompanied by a non-hunting supervisory adult who is at least
18 years of age.
- Supervisory adults
are required to wear a solid blaze orange cap/hat and upper outer garment
displaying at least 400 square inches of solid blaze orange material
- Daily limits: 2
pheasants either sex, with the following exceptions:
Sangchris Lake - statewide limits
Edward R. Madigan, Clinton Lake, Green River & Mackinaw River - 2 cock pheasants only
Jim Edgar Panther Creek & Sand Ridge - 2 pheasants either sex, 4
rabbits, 8 bobwhite quail
- Non-standard check-in
times: Sangchris Lake 10:00-10:30 AM; Edward R. Madigan, Mackinaw River, Pere Marquette and the World Shooting
and Recreational Center 7:30-8:00 AM.
- Nonstandard hunting
hours: Sangchris Lake 11:00 a.m.-4:00 PM; Eldon Hazlet, Edward R. Madigan, Mackinaw River, Pere Marquette and the World
Shooting and Recreational Center 1:00-4:00 PM.
- SPECIAL NOTE:
The IL Youth Pheasant Hunts at Eldon Hazlet, Edward R. Madigan, Mackinaw River, Pere Marquette and the World Shooting
and Recreational Complex are held in conjunction with Youth Wingshooting
Clinics in the morning. Young hunters with a permit for the youth hunt
must also participate in the Youth Wingshooting Clinic. Wingshooting
instruction during the clinics will be provided by IDNR & NSCA Certified
Wingshooting Instructors. Shotguns, shotshells, clay targets, shooting
glasses and ear protection will be provided for the wingshooting clinics.
Shotguns and shotshells will also be provided for the youth hunts as
required. Young hunters may bring their own shotgun for both the wingshooting
clinic and the youth pheasant hunt.