|Illinois Department of Natural Resources|
OUTFITTER REGULATION INFORMATION
The information below is provided only as a summary of Illinois' deer and wild turkey outfitter regulations. A complete copy of the regulations contained in Admin. Rule 640 may be obtained by contacting the Office of Law Enforcement.
The development of outfitter regulations was initiated by concerned hunters and outfitters. Their interests were to ensure hunters utilizing outfitters were provided the proper services and treatment, to strengthen the reputation of the outfitting industry in Illinois, and to ensure the proper management of the State's deer herd and wild turkey flock.
Who needs to apply for an Outfitter Permit?
An outfitter is a person who both receives compensation (i.e., money, services, or gifts) from hunters and provides outfitting services to hunters. Outfitting services include providing guides, guide services*, equipment, stands, blinds, or transportation to and from the field for hunters.
("Guide services" is defined as providing any of the following: advice to hunters while hunting about how and/or where to hunt; setting decoys; calling, stalking, pursuing, tracking, field dressing; caring for meat; field preparation of trophies; carriage of hunters, hunter equipment, and/or animals harvested by the hunter.)
Leasing or renting land for the purpose of providing hunting opportunity to others or subleasing such land for deer and wild turkey hunting requires you to obtain an Outfitter Permit.
Does a landowner who leases his/her property to a hunter or group of hunters need to obtain an Outfitter Permit?
No, as long as he/she does not provide outfitting services to hunters. Providing a place to stay on the landowner's property does not constitute an outfitting service.
What are the qualifications for becoming an outfitter?
An outfitter must be at least 21 years of age and not have had his or her hunting license revoked or hunting privileges suspended within the past five years.
What are the qualifications for a guide?
A guide must be at least 18 years of age, not have had his or her hunting license revoked or hunting privileges suspended within the past five years, have a current Illinois hunting license and habitat stamp, and have successfully completed a State-approved hunter-safety course.
How much does an Outfitter Permit cost?
The fee for an outfitter permit is $500 for a resident and $2,500 for a nonresident.
How do I apply for a permit?
You can apply for an outfitter permit by contacting the IDNR - Office of Law Enforcement at One Natural Resources Way, Springfield, IL 62702-1271, phone 217/782-6431. The office will provide you an application and deer and wild turkey management forms to complete. You will also be asked to submit:
When do I apply for a permit?
Applications will be accepted from January 15 through July 15, inclusive. Applications and renewals received after July 15 may not be processed by September 1. The permit is for one year from July 1 to June 30. A full application is required every five years.
What is required to renew a permit?
After you have received your initial permit, your can renew your permit annually for the next four years. The annual renewal process involves providing the appropriate fee, proof of insurance, the annual report of harvest completed with the previous year's information, and a notice of any change(s) to your original application.
What are the minimum standards that the IDNR expects of outfitters?
The Department expects an outfitter to:
What information will the IDNR be able to provide to the public about outfitters?
The IDNR will only be able to provide the names and addresses of licensed outfitters. We will not be able to provide referrals, arrest/criminal histories, or other types of information. Potential clients should be aware that licensing by the state does not mean that the outfitter has been certified as to competence, quality of hunt, etc.